Link to your Google+ page to get found

Search Engine Optimisation (SEO) is a very hard nut to crack. Many with much greater knowledge than I have, do battle on a daily basis with Google’s highly complex algorithm to try and improve their website’s rankings. If they are very good at their job, they might even get the website to show in the first page in search results. This is no small achievement when it happens.

There are many aspects to get right when doing SEO and many of these have to do with the actual on-page and site wide setup of the website itself. Factors include keywords, readable URL’s, alt texts, meta description tags to name a few. Thankfully for me and other bloggers, WordPress does a wonderful job of taking care of much of this for us. However, as you can imagine, just being on WordPress isn’t enough and lots of other factors contribute too like social shares, links, frequency of posts etc etc.

I’m choosing to put up this post now because, in the past hour, I have just published my first blog post on Digital Marketing View. It’s a brand new blog and it’s on the very well-catered for subject of Digital Marketing. There must be literally millions of web pages on this topic. Excited to have got the blog off the ground, I did a quick search for the very, very broad term: ‘Digital Marketing’ and could not believe my eyes to see me staring back at myself on the first page above the fold. It’s a link to the automatic share I set up to my Google+ page. Never in my wildest dreams could I have hoped for this result.

The blog is brand new so it has no social shares, no traffic to speak of and only one post. What a boost. Linking to Google+ really does help with SEO. Simple, and it worked for me.

 Insight #3. To get help get found on Google search, set up a Google+ page and link your blog.

Digital Marketing View makes it to the first page above the fold on Google search. Not bad for a new blog.

Digital Marketing View makes it to the first page above the fold on Google search. Not bad for a new blog.

 

Leave a Reply

